Cheltenham Lib Dems select a new team to build a better life for all

Cheltenham Liberal Democrats have selected a new leadership team to deliver on the commitments made in the party’s local election manifesto.


The reshuffle follows victory in the Borough Council elections on 6 May, in which half the authority’s seats were contested.

The priorities focus on six key areas:

  • Helping Cheltenham recover from Covid-19
  • Building a more prosperous town
  • Tackling climate change and protecting our environment
  • Investing in services, investing in people
  • Delivering affordable, quality housing
  • Taking good care of your money

The council’s new cabinet roles have been decided by council leader Rowena Hay, who took up her post as the authority’s political lead in autumn.

Rowena, who was re-elected by residents of Oakley ward on 6 May, said: “I’m so proud of the way our town has handled the pandemic, helping the most vulnerable and supporting our key workers.

“The Liberal Democrat-led council has been working hard to ensure we are in the strongest possible position to achieve the goals we set out in our manifesto.

“Delivering new jobs at the exciting Golden Valley development, helping our town centre and businesses to bounce back and realising our ambitious housing investment plans will be right at the top of our agenda.

“We also know that looking after the environment and nature is hugely important to local people. That’s why we will be pushing ahead with our support for community initiatives, efforts to improve air quality and the Cheltenham Zero partnership too, as we strive to meet our environmental goals.

“And of course, we will ensure that we do all we can to support the town’s cultural offer, while looking after our most vulnerable people.

“Our new cabinet team has already met and we will be working hard to deliver on these priorities.”

The Liberal Democrat group on Cheltenham Borough Council holds 30 of the 40 seats, with the rest comprised of Conservatives, independents and unaligned councillors.

Cabinet positions:

  • Rowena Hay – Leader, including Covid recovery and Joint Core Strategy
  • Peter Jeffries – Deputy Leader and Finance and Assets
  • Victoria Atherstone – Culture, Wellbeing and Business
  • Flo Clucas – Safety and Communities
  • Mike Collins – Housing
  • Iain Dobie – Waste, Recycling and Street Services
  • Martin Horwood – Customer and Regulatory Services, including planning and licensing
  • Andrew McKinlay – Cyber and Strategic Transport
  • Max Wilkinson – Climate Emergency

Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.

Find us on Facebook